See the demo

Triple Whale alternatives: when Precisian fits, and when it doesn't

For a US Shopify brand, Triple Whale is usually the right call. Precisian serves e-commerce in Brazil, so it's the alternative only if you operate there.

· 8 min read · Gabriel Sorato

If you run a Shopify brand selling in the US, Triple Whale is probably the right tool, and Precisian is not a real alternative: Precisian serves e-commerce operating in Brazil. As of October 27, 2026, Triple Whale’s Foundation plan lists at $219 a month on the Shopify App Store, with native Shopify, WooCommerce and BigCommerce integrations (Triple Whale). Precisian becomes the alternative when part of your business runs in Brazil, on VTEX or Magento.

Triple Whale: a US e-commerce analytics and attribution platform, founded in 2021, that calls itself “the AI operating system for ecommerce” (pricing; about). It combines its own pixel, multi-touch attribution, a managed data warehouse, dashboards, an AI agent that acts on ad accounts (Moby) and an MCP server.

Who is this comparison for?

Precisian is a managed data platform for e-commerce and retail, and it serves operations in Brazil. It connects VTEX, Magento, GA4, Meta, Google Ads and TikTok out of the box.

So this page is useful to three kinds of readers. A US brand with a Brazilian subsidiary or a Brazilian store on VTEX. A global brand whose Latin American team is evaluating Triple Whale for Brazil. And anyone who wants to see how a platform that sells measurement compares with one that sells data infrastructure. If you’re a US-only Shopify brand looking for another attribution tool, our roundup of Triple Whale alternatives covers Northbeam, Polar and the rest of that category.

What criteria decide the comparison?

I’m stating the criteria before the table so you can disagree with them. They were chosen for one buyer: a mid-size e-commerce business selling across several channels, without an in-house data team, that wants to point the AI it already pays for (Claude, ChatGPT, Copilot) at the company’s numbers.

  1. Per-client data isolation. A separate environment, or a shared database?
  2. Versioned metric definitions. Is there one place where “revenue” and “ROAS” are written down, versioned and approved by you?
  3. Access from your own AI. Can you connect your Claude or your own agent over MCP or an API without going through the vendor’s UI?
  4. Sources for Brazilian e-commerce. VTEX, Magento, ERP and ad platforms.
  5. Who operates the data. Does vendor staff handle collection and modeling, or do you?
  6. Ownership and portability. If you leave, do you take the data?
  7. Pricing model. How it charges.

I left out dashboard count and integration count on purpose. Triple Whale would win both, and neither tells you whether your AI’s revenue figure matches the one your CFO would sign.

What does Triple Whale do well?

A lot. It reports more than 60,000 brands and says it tracked $71 billion in revenue over 365 days (about, checked October 26, 2026). It puts its own pixel, multi-touch attribution, marketing mix modeling and incrementality testing in one product, Compass, which it generally recommends for brands with at least $10 million in annual GMV (help center).

The self-serve promise is explicit: “Most brands are up and running with Triple Whale in 15 minutes, with no engineer required,” per the FAQ on its pricing page. It is not software-only, either. The same page offers implementation specialists, custom onboarding and migration with dedicated success coverage on Enterprise, and a service add-on, Moby Concierge, described as “high-touch, custom builds.” Paying customers can get humans from Triple Whale.

Moby adjusts budgets, pauses ads and launches campaigns “within your approval settings and guardrails” (pricing). The MCP server connects Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and n8n to account data over OAuth2 (help center, MCP). And the Free plan includes the pixel, first- and last-click attribution, 12 months of lookback and 10 users (Shopify App Store).

How do they compare, criterion by criterion?

CriterionTriple WhalePrecisian
C1 · Per-client isolationNot stated. The warehouse is described with a “universal schema”; the Trust Center lists “Environment Segregation” with no public detailYes. Data lake isolated per client, on Precisian’s infrastructure
C2 · Versioned metricsPartial. Metric Builder and metric library; session definition changed on July 6, 2026, with “Legacy” kept. Per-metric approval and history: not statedYes. Semantic layer with single definitions, versioned (date, author, history) and approved by the client
C3 · Your own AIYes. Read-only MCP on Foundation, Automate and Enterprise; Data-Out API with SQLYes. MCP, API and direct BI connection, included; no vendor dashboard
C4 · Brazilian e-commerce sourcesPartial. Shopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce native; Magento as “custom”; VTEX not listed; broad ad coverage including Meta, Google Ads, TikTok and Amazon AdsYes. GA4, Meta Ads, Google Ads, TikTok Ads included; VTEX and Magento ready; ERP and Shopify as add-on connections
C5 · Who operates the dataPartial. Self-serve, with implementation specialists, dedicated success on Enterprise and the Moby Concierge service add-on; on custom platforms the customer sends orders and installs the pixelYes. Precisian Foundation included: collection, server-side, upkeep, modeling with the client, AI connection, training
C6 · Ownership and portabilityPartial. Export via Data-Out API and Data Warehouse Sync (add-on); terms grant the company a “perpetual, irrevocable” license to User ContentYes. “The infrastructure is ours, the data is yours. You can access it any time and, if you leave, you take all of it.”
C7 · Pricing model12-month subscription by annual GMV and package, in USD; unlimited users; entry at $219/mo (Foundation) and $749/mo (Automate)Monthly subscription, no setup fee, no per-seat charge

Sources for the Triple Whale column, checked October 26–27, 2026: pricing, integrations, Custom Sales Platform, MCP, plans, sessions, Data Platform, Trust Center, terms and Shopify App Store.

How much does Triple Whale cost?

The official pricing page shows no figures. It says “all prices are based on a combination of your brand’s annual GMV and the package you choose,” that paid plans are 12-month subscriptions with unlimited users, and asks you to book a walkthrough (pricing, checked October 26, 2026). Triple Whale’s own published entry prices are on the Shopify App Store: Foundation at $219 a month ($2,190 a year) and Automate at $749 a month ($7,490 a year), with “all charges billed in USD” (Shopify App Store, checked October 27, 2026). Moby usage beyond the monthly allotment is bought separately (plans).

GMV-tier table, not confirmed by an official source: a July 26, 2026 snapshot published by Venon, a Triple Whale competitor, runs from $219/mo on Foundation (under $250k annual GMV) to $2,529/mo ($15–20M), and from $749 to $4,199/mo on Automate (Venon). Treat it as a rough range and confirm with Triple Whale.

Why does the store platform matter so much?

Because a metric is only as good as the orders feeding it. On Triple Whale, a platform outside the native list comes in as a “Custom Sales Platform”: you push orders through the API and install the pixel yourself (docs). For a Shopify store that’s a non-issue. For a VTEX store in São Paulo, someone on your side builds and maintains that feed.

Then comes the definition. A synthetic example with round numbers: a US brand books $1M in September on Shopify and $200k through its Brazilian store on VTEX. GA4 shows more than both, because it counted orders that were later cancelled or refunded. Ask Claude over MCP for “September revenue” with no written definition, and it answers from whatever source is closest. That failure is metric hallucination, and what a definition needs to contain is in what goes into a semantic layer.

Triple Whale has definitions too: its MCP uses “TW’s real metric definitions and attribution logic” (help center, MCP). The difference is who owns them. There, the platform sets the rules, the same for every brand, which is what makes cross-brand benchmarks possible. At Precisian, the definition is written with your team, versioned, approved by you, and leaves with you when the contract ends.

What do Triple Whale’s terms say about your data?

Read this before you sign. Section 2.1 of the public terms says users grant Triple Whale “a royalty-free, sublicensable, transferable, perpetual, irrevocable, nonexclusive, worldwide license to use, reproduce, modify, publish […] and make derivative works of all such User Content” (terms of service, checked October 27, 2026). The same section says the company creates derivatives “by aggregating data from multiple Users,” including for “training machine learning algorithms,” and uses “commercially reasonable efforts” so those derivatives can’t identify the user.

Two caveats, to be fair. “User Content” is defined as what you share on the site, such as cost, spend and shipping data, and questions. And paying customers may sign a separate agreement with different wording that isn’t public. I found no clause in the public terms about returning data at the end of a contract. Ask in writing.

If the open question is how a vendor keeps one client’s data apart from another’s, see per-tenant isolation for MCP.

When should you choose Triple Whale instead of Precisian?

Almost any brand selling mainly in the US on Shopify. This is the broad case, and it’s most readers of this page. Native integration, a pixel that installs in minutes, dashboards ready on day one, and an English-language product billed in US dollars. Precisian serves Brazil, so it isn’t in the running here.

Brands on WooCommerce or BigCommerce in the same position. Both are native.

Anyone who wants attribution, marketing mix modeling and incrementality as a product. That’s Triple Whale’s core. Precisian sells none of them.

Teams that want an agent acting on ad accounts. Moby works within the rules you set. Precisian doesn’t touch campaigns.

Anyone who wants a dashboard. Precisian has none, on purpose: delivery ends at the semantic layer.

A small store just starting out. The Free plan covers it. Precisian has no free tier and no self-serve.

What should each profile choose?

US Shopify brand, media team living in dashboards: Triple Whale, starting on Free or Foundation.

Brand above $10M in annual GMV that wants full media measurement: Triple Whale Enterprise with Compass, where Triple Whale itself recommends it (help center).

A Brazilian operation on VTEX or Magento, with marketplaces and an ERP, no data team, that wants its own Claude or ChatGPT answering revenue questions: Precisian.

A global brand with a US Shopify store and a Brazilian store: Triple Whale can cover the US side. For Brazil, weigh C1, C4 and C6 first and ask each vendor in writing how the VTEX orders get in.

What does this article not cover?

I didn’t test Triple Whale on a live account or measure its pixel accuracy. I don’t compare attribution, because Precisian doesn’t sell it. The full GMV-tier table comes from a Triple Whale competitor and isn’t confirmed. Per-client isolation, paid-customer contract terms and the exact Data Warehouse Sync destinations aren’t on public pages; where the table says “not stated,” that’s what it means, not “no.” Prices change without notice, so verify before you sign.


If you run a store in Brazil and your AI’s revenue number doesn’t match your books, the first step is measuring the gap and finding out which definition each source used. What Precisian includes to close that gap, and how it charges, is on Precisian’s pricing page, with no contract commitment to look.